Where do I start?

“Do you think we are wasting our lives away?”  I asked a friend of mine.

“Yes..” she swiftly replied, with a hint of resentment in her voice.

“If yes, then why aren’t we making a difference?”

Silence followed..

She gave me no answer.

Even I paused at the thought of that.

Since my life isn’t exactly how I imagined it to be, what have I done to shift it in the direction of my favour?

None.

I have done no shit.

Ever since I stepped my foot in Jakarta once again after being away for quite some time, I have done quite a bit of re-adjusting and getting used to the things that Jakarta has to offer that Melbourne didn’t.

The fact about the Gen Y population in Jakarta is,

Let me put it this way:

Jakarta is becoming better and better. The standards have steadily grown up. Reason being, there are plenty of kids who went to study abroad, have gathered up enough knowledge, and came back to this motherland for good. What these millennial kids do, is bringing the knowledge, culture, lifestyle that they acquired during their time abroad into Indonesia. And with the help of technology (which they are coincidentally very adept at), these kids are making a difference, good difference.

While some of them continue climbing up the corporate ladder by working for some major, fancy corporations, there are a percentage of them who choose to do business. New businesses are popping up ever single day here in Jakarta alone, offering new and fresh concepts for the market to feast on. And these businesses are, at large, governed by 20 something year olds who is about the same age as me.

And ever since I came back here to Jakarta, boy I have lost count on how many times I have been inspired.

Amongst all of them, there are a few that stand out to me the most.

  1. Common Grounds Coffee and Roastery.

Having separated from my love for coffee in Melbourne ever since I return home for good, I have to admit that Common Grounds is the closest thing that you can find here in Jakarta that best reflects the vibe that I have been looking for. Even though I can’t judge much based on the cuisine and coffee alone, but their aspirations, principles, and their passion for coffee truly astounds me every time I see their work. And how the creators of Common Grounds can actually bring that passion and ideas to life, I applaud them for having dreams and actually realizing it.

  1. Dough Darlings

Dough Darlings, their expertise is only in one thing. Doughnuts.

But what are the most admirable traits that they possess are:

  • They have no physical store
  • All of their doughnuts can only be ordered online
  • They are innovative in terms of flavours as they change their menus regularly. Spring collection, Chinese New Year themed, you name it. And they are quite the daredevil in terms of innovating new flavours too such as Grilled Corn Cheese, Lime Mojito, even using traditional Indonesian desserts as inspirations such as Klepon bomb, Panada. Keep in mind we are still on the subject of doughnuts here..

And every time I see these people running their businesses, I couldn’t help but pause in awe at how great they are. Earlier today, I received a box of dough darlings from a friend of mine. This is my first time having my hands on the darlings, and boy was I impressed. Taste wise, of course, to no surprise. But the detailings, the box that it came in, the brochures, even the invoice that it came with. As I looked at the brochures, I thought of how these people can be so good. It is exactly how I want MY brochure would be if I were to run a doughnut business. It was sleek and creative at the same time. But the thing is, the reality is, why is it when I am the one actually being given the chance to run the business, I don’t think I would have enough brain power to come up with something so interesting and new.

And the more I think about how these people run their businesses, the more I am motivated to be like them. But the question that always lingers is..

Where do I start?

How?

And it frustrates me so much because I know I am not meant to do only THIS.

I am not meant to only go to the shop every day, wait for customers to walk in, 6 pm go home, tomorrow go to the shop again.

I am capable of doing a whole lot more.

I am capable of greatness.

I should strive for greatness.

I should not settle.

But how do I start.. ?

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

